US House, PA-08

Matthew Cartwright


  • Voted for the Inflation Reduction Act, the most significant action Congress has ever taken to address climate change
  • Vice Chair of the Sustainable Energy and Environment Coalition
  • Earned 97% lifetime score on LCV’s National Environmental Scorecard


  • Only Democrat to win  a congressional district that Donald Trump won four times
  • Rep. Cartwright’s race is rated as a Toss Up by Cook Political Report and he won his election in 2022 just 2.4%
  • Holding this seat in Pennsylvania will help win a pro-environmental majority in the House, making it easier to pass climate legislation at the federal level


Representative Matthew Cartwright is running for a seventh term representing Pennsylvania’s 8th Congressional District. A Vice Chair of the Sustainable Energy and Environment Coalition and member of the Safe Climate Caucus, he has quickly established himself as a leader on climate and environmental issues in the House. Cartwright introduced and spearheaded the passage of the Streamlining Energy Efficiency for Schools Act to help schools complete energy efficiency retrofits, as well as offered bills to encourage jobs in energy efficiency manufacturing. A member of the House Committees on Natural Resources, he has helped introduce a number of bills, dubbed the "Frack Pack'' to prevent companies from polluting water supplies by closing the so-called “Halliburton Loophole,” which exempts fracking from the Safe Drinking Water Act. Cartwright has also introduced legislation to close coal royalty loopholes as well as  the Safeguarding America’s Future and Environment (SAFE) Act to protect our natural resources from the increasingly harmful effects of climate change. Representative Cartwright has earned a stellar lifetime score of 97% on LCV's National Environmental Scorecard. Representative Cartwright is endorsed by LCV Action Fund and NRDC Action Fund.

Candidate profile pages are paid for by the League of Conservation Voters Action Fund,, and authorized by the candidate committee.